Spring Home Decor Trends, Pinterest Envy, and Delusions of Grandeur

m.style-Bloom-Polyester-and-Cotton-Shower-Curtain

Source: Shower curtain from Wayfair.com

It’s been two years since I invested in my computerized Janome Magnolia 7330 Sewing Machine.

I guess I imagined that by computerized, Janome meant the machine would magically do the sewing for me. Like Cinderella’s birds and mice, I would simply push a button and my magical new sewing machine would instantly produce adorable throw pillows, darling handbags, charming rag quilts, and new Roman shades for the whole house.

Sadly, however, this did not occur.

janome_7330

So these past few weeks, after completing project declutter, and inspired by my good friend Yvette, who’d recently made some really fantastic curtains from Pinterest Tutorials, I decided to pay my friend to sew curtains for me!

Luckily Yvette is a non-judgmental friend and  agreed to help with my project, which I assumed meant she would sew them for me, and I got to bypass all the measuring, ironing and cutting, and go straight to the fun part -Shopping for fabrics!

First stop; the place I always go for inspiration, Pinterest.

“You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.” John Lennon once said, prophetically referring to the advent of Pinterest.”

Pinterest is chock-full of beautiful photographs of the recipes we hope to prepare, the clothes we hope to wear, the parties we want to throw, the exquisite gardens we want to grow, and the bathrooms with the freestanding tubs of our dreams, even if we’re shower people, born and raised.

f9e3d780fc0cb783cefed45ac681bb71

Source: hellobrielle.wordpress.com 1. Target 2. Premier Fabrics 3. Bedbuggs 4. Pottery Barn via Real Simple 5. Amy Butler 6. Colorbee 7. She Likes Purple

My friend Yvette and I created a shared board on Pinterest that we could both contribute to, and pinned all the fabrics we found that matched the current color and pattern trends. Bright! Bold! Big! paired with soft neutrals. 11046403_1084724708220366_2618078523814373780_n

We searched Google, Etsy, and other boutique fabric stores, and pinned all of our favorite fabrics to the shared board, writing down the names of the ones we liked best.

Then we visited onlinefabricstore.net, where you can typically find the yardage you need of the fabric you want, versus some of the smaller boutique shops that have limited quantities at a higher price. Plus, shipping is free on orders of $50 or more.

And finally when it was time to get down to brass tacks,Yvette found a great step-by-step tutorial on Pinterest from Midwest Magnolia, that she followed to make new drapes for her dining room, living room and bedroom.

1924704_10152674317673589_5414340233889026763_nOf course she got a lot of help from her beagle, Lucy.

Here are two of the completed sets. 10957760_10152674523588589_6307927056989610494_nzBold, clean and fresh with a slight nod to mid-century modern.

The big splashy prints are perfect for Spring. 10608568_10152376386808589_6530551657542804450_oz And then Yvette broke the bad news to me…she wasn’t going to sew my curtains for me. It was time to dust off that brand new Janome, and conquer my fear of sewing. Time to quit my Pinterest-day-dreaming and just do it. Sigh…that’s what friends are for, I guess, pushing us to do the things we think we can’t do. Wish me luck!

For more great decorating ideas, visit the Smart Perks Spring Decor board on Pinterest. No sewing required.

 

-MB

When she’s not blogging for Smart Perks, Melanie is staring glassy-eyed at Pinterest, her Pin It finger splinted from overuse. Besides crafting, gardening, shopping and cupcakes, the loves of her life are her three naughty terrier pups, the smartest and best-looking dogs in the world, and her husband.

One thought on “Spring Home Decor Trends, Pinterest Envy, and Delusions of Grandeur

  1. Pingback: How-To: DIY Home Renovation Project | Smart Perks

Leave a Reply

